### COUNCIL

Tuesday, 5th December, 2017 Time of Commencement: 7.00 pm

**Present:-** The Mayor Councillor Simon White – in the Chair

Councillors:

Allport Bailey Beech Bloor **Burgess** Cooper Miss J Cooper Dillon Dymond Eagles Fear Frankish Gardner L Hailstones P Hailstones S Hambleton Harper Heesom Holland Huckfield Johnson Jones

Northcott Olszewski Owen Panter Parker Pickup Reddish Robinson Rout Shenton Simpson Spence Stubbs Sweeney J Tagg S Tagg Turner Walklate Waring G White Wilkes **G** Williams J Williams Winfield Wing Woolley Wright

Officers Interim Head of Paid Service- David Adams,

Jayne Briscoe - Scrutiny Officer,

Executive Director (Regeneration and Development) - Neale Clifton,

Geoff Durham - Member Training and Development Officer.

Phil Jones - Head of Communications

John Tradewell - Director of Strategy, Governance and Change at

Staffordshire County Council and

Executive Director (Resources and Support Services) - Kelvin Turner

### 1. APOLOGIES

Kearon

Loades

Mancey

Naylon

Matthews

Apologies were received from Councillors' Astle, Proctor and Snell

### 2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no declarations of interest stated.

# 3. LETTER OF RESIGNATION FROM THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor read out a letter which he had received from the Leader, Councillor Elizabeth Shenton tendering her resignation as Leader of the Council.

In addition, Members were advised that Councillor Terry Turner had also stepped down as Deputy Leader of the Council.

### 4. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

As a consequence of the previous item, it was necessary to seek nominations for Leader and the following Members were nominated:

Councillor Elizabeth Shenton, nominated by Councillor Turner and seconded by Councillor Hambleton.

Councillor Simon Tagg, nominated by Councillor Fear and seconded by Councillor Sweeney.

A named vote was requested for the two nominees:

### Councillor Shenton:

ALLPORT	YES	HEESOM	NO	SHENTON	YES
ASTLE	ABSENT	HOLLAND	NO	SIMPSON	YES
BAILEY	NO	HUCKFIELD	NO	SNELL	ABSENT
BEECH	YES	JOHNSON	NO	SPENCE	YES
BLOOR	NOT PRESENT	JONES	YES	STUBBS	YES
		KEARON	YES	SWEENEY	NO
BURGESS	YES	LOADES	NO	JOHN TAGG	NO
COOPER	NO	MANCEY	NO	SIMON TAGG	NO
MISS COOPER	NO	MATTHEWS	NO	TURNER	YES
DILLON	YES	NAYLON	NO	WALKLATE	ABSTAIN
DYMOND	YES	NORTHCOTT	NO	WARING	NO
EAGLES	YES	OLSZEWSKI	YES	G WHITE	NO
FEAR	NO	OWEN	NO	S WHITE	NO

FRANKISH	NO	PANTER	NO	I WILKES	NO
GARDNER	YES	PARKER	NO	G WILLIAMS	YES
MRS HAILSTONES	NO	PICKUP	YES	J WILLIAMS	YES
MR HAILSTONES	NO	PROCTOR	ABSENT	WINFIELD	YES
HAMBLETON	YES	REDDISH	NO	WING	NO
		ROBINSON	YES	WOOLLEY	NO
HARPER	NO	ROUT	YES	WRIGHT	YES

In Favour - 23

Against - 30

Abstain – 1

# Councillor Simon Tagg:

ALLPORT	NO	HEESOM	YES	SHENTON	NO
ASTLE	ABSENT	HOLLAND	YES	SIMPSON	NO
BAILEY	YES	HUCKFIELD	YES	SNELL	ABSENT
BEECH	NO	JOHNSON	YES	SPENCE	NO
BLOOR	NOT PRESENT	JONES	NO	STUBBS	NO
		KEARON	NO	SWEENEY	YES
BURGESS	NO	LOADES	YES	JOHN TAGG	YES
COOPER	YES	MANCEY	YES	SIMON TAGG	YES
MISS COOPER	YES	MATTHEWS	YES	TURNER	NO
DILLON	NO	NAYLON	YES	WALKLATE	ABSTAIN
DYMOND	NO	NORTHCOTT	YES	WARING	YES
EAGLES	NO	OLSZEWSKI	NO	G WHITE	YES
FEAR	YES	OWEN	YES	S WHITE	YES

FRANKISH	YES	PANTER	YES	I WILKES	YES
GARDNER	NO	PARKER	YES	G WILLIAMS	NO
MRS HAILSTONES	YES	PICKUP	NO	J WILLIAMS	NO
MR HAILSTONES	YES	PROCTOR	ABSENT	WINFIELD	NO
HAMBLETON	NO	REDDISH	YES	WING	YES
		ROBINSON	NO	WOOLLEY	YES
HARPER	YES	ROUT	NO	WRIGHT	NO

In Favour - 30

Against - 23

Abstain - 1

**Resolved:** That Councillor Simon Tagg be appointed as Leader of the Council.

## 5. **APPOINTMENT OF CABINET**

The Leader, Councillor Simon Tagg informed Members of his Cabinet appointments:

The Leader's Portfolio would be Corporate and Service Improvement, Partnerships and People.

Councillor Stephen Sweeney – Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance and Resources.

Councillor Paul Northcott – Portfolio Holder for Planning and Regeneration.

Councillor Mark Holland – Portfolio Holder for Sport and Leisure.

Councillor Trevor Johnson – Portfolio Holder for Environment and Recycling.

Vacant - Portfolio Holder for Community

Safety (this would be done by Councillor

Sweeney in the short term).

The Leader wished Councillor Elizabeth Shenton well and Councillor Shenton then made a statement giving the reasons for her resignation.

# 6. INDEPENDENT REPORT INTO ISSUES FACED BY VOTERS IN NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME AT 8 JUNE, 2017 GENERAL ELECTION

The Leader introduced a report informing Members that the independent review into the issues at the General Election in June, 2017 had been completed.

A copy of the Scallan report was attached to the agenda and a consequential appendix seeking interim appointments of Electoral Registration Officer and returning Officer, Interim Head of Paid Service and Monitoring Officer was tabled at the meeting.

The Leader stated that there had been a number of failings and that the Council needed to be stabilised. There are by-elections on 14 December and May, 2018 would see the Council moving to 'all-out' elections. They needed to be resourced effectively.

The disciplinary hearings of the two suspended officers needed to be completed and interim officers appointed.

Members debated the contents of the report stating that the Council had been 'caused damage'. There was now a need to find a solution and move forward. It was important to ensure that people have confidence in future elections.

#### Resolved:

- (i) That the sixteen recommendations, as set out in the Scallan report be agreed and to take any action required.
- (ii) That the Borough council appoints David Sidaway Stoke–on-Trent City Council's City Director to act as the Borough's Electoral Registration Officer and Returning Officer until further notice for all elections.
- (iii) That the Borough Council appoints Dave Adams (the current Executive Director Operational Services) as interim Head of Paid Service and Paul Washington (the Council's Legal and Democratic Services Manager and Deputy Monitoring Officer ) as interim Monitoring Officer.

### 7. STANDING ORDER 18 - URGENT BUSINESS

There was no urgent business.

# THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR SIMON WHITE Chair

Meeting concluded at 8.05 pm